Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Set me straight on the circuit math.

mreff555

Jan 13, 2014
I'm pretty new to circuits and I am trying to build sortof a bench supply.
I would like to have as many outputs and I can have while still giving
me the variability of power which I want.
I'm starting off with a supply I got out of a printer which has outputs of
31.5 VDCp and 31.5 VDCm, each at 1.4A

Using this as a starting point I believe all I need to do is regulate and clean up the power.
I would like to use multiple 317 IC's so I have a little freedom to make some adjustments
I know the 317 max's out at 1.5A, I shouldn't need more than that anyway.
I know I will need 5V at 1A. My idea was to use the p leg to get circuits in the range of 5v and the m leg to get circuits in the 12V range.

I'm a little rusty on how I would calculate the resistor sizes for something like that.
Also, what size electrolytic caps would you recommend? I was thinking 3300uf

Thanks

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
The connotation "P" and "M" is probably there to indicate that the "P" leg has +31V with respect to GND (0V) and the "M" leg has -31V with respect to GND. Therefore you cannot use a linear regulator to create +5V from the "M" leg.

Another consideration is that a linear regulator has a voltage drop from input to output that is the difference between the two voltages. In your case that's 31V-12V or 31V-5V, respectively. This voltage drop in conjunction with the current flowing creates a proportional power loss:
19V*1A = 19W or 26V*1A=26W. You will need a really big heat sink to dissipate all that energy and save the LM317 from a premature death from heat.