Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Signal generator and feed through termination

Bucephalus

Apr 3, 2010
Hi

I'm new to electronics and I recently bought an signal generator for my bench.
I'm reading the manual and it mentions that I have to terminate the coaxial cable into a 50 ohm through-termination.

It really go into details why. When they say terminated, I'm assuming that I don't put it at the signal generator end of the cable? Or do I? Is this required for me to start using this thing?
In particular it states this in the context of wanting to achieve an exact square-shaped signal.

Anybody know about this?

David.

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
It's about reflection & cable length. If the receiver end of a 50 Ohm cable is left unterminated then hf signals will "bounce" back to the source. Try it out on a 'scope if you have.
This is more pronounced at higher frequencies (not much to worry about in the audio range) and will therefore affect the edges/flanks of square waves before anything else.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010