Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simple button Repair (I hope)

kr3pt

Aug 26, 2017
Hey guys, Noob here.
We had a monitor at our office that had a problem where it would randomly start cycling through all of its inputs. I figured it was just that the button was stuck. My boss decided to give it a good whack from the side. This turned out to be a not so good idea because after he did that it would no longer turn on at all!
He looked into it and we were 3 days out of the return period with no warranty, so he told me to trash it.

Instead I took it home and took it apart. What I found is that the power button is a tiny momentary button that uses a tiny convex metal cap. when he hit it, that cap came off. The rest are intact and seem to have some orangish glue holding them in place.
To confirm my theory i took the look "cap" and put it over the area that it should be in and depressed it. This worked and the power came on.

What would be my best route to take to fix this at least to a usable state? If i should glue it like the others, what glue should I use? all insight is welcome.

layoG8g.jpg

fMzIUCE.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
That's a small tactile switch.

Everything will be OK unless you put it down on synthetic carpet...

Just kidding, kinda. There's probably nothing on that board which could be easily damaged by static. The same is not true of the rest of the monitor.

Depending on how the buttons are mounted for this switch, you may have room to mount a larger tactile switch and have the actuator protrude through the casing, or you may have to locate one of these very thin switches.

I'll see if I can locate where you can get one of them...

This is a surface mount, snap dome, tactile switch. Better hurry, they only have a million in stock. (Check it carefully to make sure it is the same size before ordering).

The next question is, can you do surface mount soldering? (and I suspect that the answer is no).