Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simple Photodiode Reverse Bias Circuit - Current?

Corwin Schwarzchild

May 3, 2015
Hi there,

I am an EE student studying for an upcoming final. My question pertains to a very simple circuit containing a resistor, a voltage source, and a photodiode.

The photodiode is receiving an input intensity of 500 mW/m^2. The PD has a responsivity of 0.4 A/W. Assume the area of the detector is 1mm^2. The load resistor we'll call 100 0hms. See image.

We're going to model the PD IV curve with a simple piecewise linear function, see image. Rd we'll call 10 ohms and V0 we'll call 0.5 A.

If I make the bias voltage so that the photodiode is in reverse mode, say Vb = -5V, what current am I going to see in the circuit? How can I figure this out? Please explain thoroughly because I am confused.

Cheers
Corwin S

Attachments

• IV.PNG
    IV.PNG
    3.4 KB · Views: 222
  • PD.PNG
    PD.PNG
    17.6 KB · Views: 234

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Your diagram shows the photodiode with forward bias, which is incorrect. Photodiodes are always reverse-biased when used as light sensors. OTOH, if this is a power-producing photocell, disregard the discussion below.

What is your question? What is VO? Where is the piece-wise linear approximation you said would be attached? Why do you want a piece-wise linear approximation to a forward biased "photodiode"?

You would normally connect the photodiode anode to a negative bias voltage and connect its cathode to the summing junction of an op-amp with a largeish feedback resistor to convert the photodiode reverse current to an output voltage linearly proportional to light intensity. No piece-wise linear approximation is necessary: the photodiode current is linear with intensity over at least four decades of intensity.