Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Skin effect in 1 milliOhm resistor?

eem2am

Aug 3, 2009
I have an 11 Amp RMS current flowing in a one milliOhm sense resistor (1%).
(its a 1210 size chip resistor)

...this current is amplified by a differential amplifier with a gain of 100, and there are filter capacitors incorporated in the differential amplifier (using OPA335 op amp which has low Vos) so that the amplified output voltage is DC.....(and then this DC output of the opamp is read by an ADC on a microcontroller)

......The 11 Amps current waveshape is of the form of a full wave rectified 50Khz sinusoidal current waveform....so it has a frequency of 100KHz.

.....Do you think skin effect issues will be at large here?......will the 1 MilliOhm resistor act like its a lot more than 1 MilliOhm?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi ya :)

Im not a total expert here, But I understand that skin effect doesnt really become a critical factor till the frequency is well in excess of 1MHz

I have seen a skin effect calculator online, doing a google search will probably find it for you

Dave

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Traps for young players.

The wires, traces, and solder joints may each contribute more than 0.001 ohms of resistance.

In particular, the solder joints are going to be in series with your resistor no matter how careful you are with having separate traces to carry the 11A and the voltage signal from the resistor.

The skin thickness at 50Hz is likely to be multiple times the size of your component.

eem2am

Aug 3, 2009
Thanks, however Steve, its 50KHz, and not 50Hz.

I appreciate you'd think 50Hz as thats mains...but this is 50KHz.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Thanks, however Steve, its 50KHz, and not 50Hz.

I appreciate you'd think 50Hz as thats mains...but this is 50KHz.

as I said above skin effect isnt really likely to become a factor till much higher freq

did you bother to do as I suggested and google an online skin effect calculator ??

Dave

eem2am

Aug 3, 2009
Yes thanks