Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Slayer Exciter with arcs?

Andremaia

Jan 31, 2018
Hello everyone from this forum! I am a student trying to beef up my science's fair project..
This is the circuit I used on my first attempt and it works just fine, however, I'd like to beef it up a notch...
wF6ZyAd.png

I'm trying to get some electric arcs coming out from the top load...So I made a new secondary coil which has about 800 turns and I am also hoping the change my power supply to something higher(Maybe someone can give me a nice recommendation on which I should buy).
I'm also planning on changing my transistor and adding an heat sink as mine probably won't handle the voltage...

So I'm hoping to get a little bit of help on what I should change to get some arcs.

Thanks for reading this post and as always I have some questions:

a)
I researched a bit and I found out that you can actually play music from the electrical arcs as long as you have the right electrical signals, can someone clarify me on that please?
b) is the output voltage on the secondary directly calculated to the ratio of the turns between the two coils times the initial voltage, or does it have some other factors?

Hopup

Jul 5, 2015
The more turns there are at secondary coil compared to primary,the higher the voltage generally. You can probably increase the sparks easiest by just increasing the voltage of the whole circuitry. Circuit seems to be similar to Tesla coil circuitry so you should get better spark also by getting the resonance between the coils by right ratio between the coil lengths to reduce wire impedance and therefore get the best possible energy transfer.

FuZZ1L0G1C

Mar 25, 2014
The music is frequency modulated, carrier wave modulated, or Pulse-width modulated.
One method used is to simply "chop" the HF signal in sync with the negative peaks of the audio, on the primary.
This is CW modulation.