Maker Pro
Maker Pro

SMALL CNC SPEED CONTROL

neweng

Oct 4, 2020
Hi,

This is my first post I am a mechanical engineer with small electronic knowledge.

I am looking for some help in constructing a circuit .

I have a small cnc lathe and I would like to program multiple speed changes within the program. The motor is a 90v dc motor.The control circuit has a 50k pot giving 0-7.8v to control the speed.

I can program an m26 command which will give me an output of digital pulses with a frequency of 100hz, the number of pulses being programable up to 221, initial condition-lo

The main program is interrupted during the output time and then subsequently continued.

I have been thinking along the lines of a stairstep generator but cannot get beyond the concept when multiple speed changes are needed ie.needing the voltage changing when the next speed is required during the program.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
What CNC controller are you using?
Here is a schematic of the popular Gecko G540 that may help in a digital to analogue conversion.
Is this an ex T.M. & motor board?
M.

Attachments

• PWManalog.jpg
    PWManalog.jpg
    64.9 KB · Views: 5

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
Hi,

I can program an m26 command which will give me an output of digital pulses with a frequency of 100hz,

IIRC M26 is set the axis to zero reference when issued?
On some it is send Spindle back to zero ref.
Although there is varied definitions and meaning depending on the controller
M.

neweng

Oct 4, 2020
Hi
The lathe is an Emco compact 5 cnc with the original motor control board.
M26 on this lathe does exactly as described previously with the pulse output through the dnc board
John

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
So are you looking for a digital to analogue method for controlling or subbing the pot input on the controller?
M.

neweng

Oct 4, 2020
Hi,
Yes thats what I am looking for.
I would like to input through the program a 0-7.8v signal to the motor control board