Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Smart hearing aid circuit that doens't work

guillotf

Nov 5, 2011
Hi I am a Mechanical Engineer student and I am learning electronic so I selected a <<Smart Hearing Aid>> project for school that can be found at

http://therohanaurora.com/top-5-easy-mini-projects-for-biomedical-engineering-students/

I have also added the DC voltage measurements as an attachement

That circuit had inherent problems even if it says TESTED:
First when the circuit was in operation the 555 and the T5 were burning. The 8 ohm impedance of the earphone was draining so much current that Pin 3 of the 555 was only at 3.5 V. At the electronic store they suggested to add an audio transformer with 1.2 kOms. It seems to have solve that problem.

Now the main problem is the condensor microphone that doesn't work. there is almost no current flowing form R1 down. The microphone measurement resistance at 1.2 KOhm. I ordered two from future Electronic. There is also T2 collector at 0 Volt I don't get.

I did checked the circuit, soldering, did check all transistors with dynamic transistor checker are all fine.

I removed R6 and was able to drive the output with noise and hiss when I touch with my finger the collector/emitter of T2, then the voltage at collector seem to bias correctly and so for the rest of the stages. That 680 kOhms seems to set the collector to 0V.

Still the microphone drive no current. Put the microphone directly on my PC speaker... no hope.

Not familiar the way those mini-mic works how do they get in operation if not biased? I have no scope to see the AC side of the circuit

The specs can be found at http://www.icc-intervox.com/inc/Intervox_catalog/page33.pdf

MEO-63PN-02-663 (643) Pin

Sensitivity -66,-64 20 ~ 16,000

Operating Voltage 2.0V 10V

Max current 0.5mA

within -3dB @ 1.5V >38dB

Since R1 = 2.2 KOhm and microphone = 1.2 KOhm should be a current of 0.25 mA?

Thanks your your help !

Attachments

• Project Voltage Measurements.jpg