Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Solar charging a LiFePO4 Battery (advice welcome!)

MikeGray

May 5, 2017
Hi folks,
I've been using a LiFePO4 battery for several months to run the starter and electrics on my motorcycle. Although its been working as advertised, I find it much too picky for that job and will be changing back to a traditional SLA. Now I'm looking for an alternative use for this battery. If I could solar charge it, I think it would make a great off-grid camping battery to run a couple LED lights and a fan.

Now, I'm a newb at electronics and could use some advice on how to set this up. Here's what I know about this battery:
f984f0ce2dbe07149649a58417a956d2.jpg

Its an X2 Power CYL10039 from Batteries Plus Bulbs
c4f29669ece2683ffd1dc971400b3ba1.jpg

The sticker claims 12v 20Ah Pb Eq, 72.0Wh LiFePO4
b12bebc3f8bb8a21539e3a1c4340a45e.jpg

The label on the back gives a maximum charge current of 6.6A, and a Min/Max charge voltage of 14.6/15V.

I've been using a Battery Tender specific for LiFePO4 batteries and it charges up to about 14.5V. After sitting overnight the resting voltage seems to be about 13.3v. As long as the temperature is above 40F it seems to happily put out the 270 crank-amps my bike needs to start. Though that won't matter once I change it out.

Unfortunately, I don't know what kind of cells are in this battery, or how many, or in what configuration. Here is my best guess without tearing the thing open. A fully charged bank of cells in series would be around 4.4v, yes? so mine sitting at 13.3v should have 3 banks in parallel. Doesn't tell me how many cells per bank, but from what I've read, a lot of Lithium chargers are set up to charge 3 banks. If this is true, I need a controller that will allow up to 6.6A to charge the battery. Does it matter how much capacity the battery has? A larger capacity would just take longer, right? The controllers I've seen so far are either 3A or 10A. I haven't even looked at solar panels yet.