Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Solar Drone

Noah Knox

Jan 5, 2018
I am working on modifying a hubsan x4 drone into a solar powered drone for recharging (it will not fly indefinitely when it is sunny out unfortunately) the solar cell is 4.7 watt .5 v and the battery is
3.7v 240 mah. I’m fairly new to electronics and I’m wondering how to make a simple circuit to charge the battery and power the drone simultaneously. Thanks!

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Welcome to EP!
0.5V seems very low for a cell, or is that a typo?

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
To get a solar panel with sufficient output to charge the battery/run the drone would make it so heavy it would never leave the ground!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
To get a solar panel with sufficient output to charge the battery/run the drone would make it so heavy it would never leave the ground!

Apparently not. This one even carried a human (ok, so it's an aircraft, not a drone, but I would think that adds weight (ha ha) to the argument).

Noah Knox

Jan 5, 2018
It’s not meant to stay aloft perpetually. The purpose of the project is for a computer control drone that is able to (when there is sufficient sunlight) fly for a couple minutes capture data and then land to charge. And I did some tests to confirm the manufacture’s claim of 0.5v and it is correct.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
You'll be lucky to find a converter that will take a 0.5V input and convert it to a charging voltage - you'll need at least a eight(?) in series to get a decent voltage that'll work.

@(*steve*) still fantasy (for everyone else).

...average speed of between 45kph and 90kph.
...and nearly 500 hours of flying.
...an epic 16-month voyage.

and they add this classic line...

...and demonstrating the potential of renewable energy.

I think not.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
Why don't you use a solar panel that already produces the 5V to feed the battery charger?