Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Spark gap transmitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rekin229

Sep 24, 2018
I am new to electronics and recently I am trying to make a small spark gap transmitter, but I have no success. I have used the design I have attached as a file, but, as you can see, it has no labels for what type of capacitor, resistor, voltage input and number of coils it needs.

I tried making it work for a couple of days but nothing works. I would really appreciate if anyone could tell me the specific parts needed (the type of resistor, capacitor etc.) or inform me if the whole circuit is not working.

Attachments

• Sparktrans2.png
    Sparktrans2.png
    2.6 KB · Views: 48

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Firstly, the battery probably needs to be several thousand volts.

Secondly, once you get this working you are likely to get a knock on the door from your country's spectrum regulators. And they are not going to have smiles on their faces.

Rekin229

Sep 24, 2018
Yes, I know it is illegal. Correct me if I am wrong, but I thought if I was going to build a tiny antenna (about 50cm), the transmitter would would only ve able to travel a small distance, too smapl to cause any jamming

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Correct me if I am wrong, but I thought if I was going to build a tiny antenna (about 50cm), the transmitter would would only ve able to travel a small distance, too smapl to cause any jamming

Sorry, but yes, you are wrong
It doesn't work that way

eg the small antenna out the top of my 1296MHz, 2.5 W radio can go 90km !

PLEASE DO NOT consider putting a spark gap TX on the air

Rekin229

Sep 24, 2018
Sure thing I won't when I know this know. My question is, what else could I do, instead of that? And something similar.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
If you are really interested in building a transmitter, why not investigate getting an amateur radio licence?

Rekin229

Sep 24, 2018