Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Spectrum analyser Equalizer project how to go about it?

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
584
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
584
this might sound really stupid but what do the transistors do on both the column and row?
 

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,779
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,779
what do you mean by channels?
Channels = band. Not input from your PHONO plugs (RCA). So you’re saying 15 channels (bands). Think of it like an equaliser, 10 band or 30 band per channel (left & right) RCA.

Martin
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
584
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
584
OKay so been having a go at KIcad this is where I've got to!! so right I need to edit the diodes to be LED's how to do this?
 

Attachments

  • single column.png
    single column.png
    19.6 KB · Views: 1

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
584
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
584
So I made a 1 column, so how do you choose a bandwidth of the frequency that this column will turn on and and how do you make it so that when the frequency is the same but the amplitude goes up and so making the LED higher up the column light??? thanks for the KiCAD it's nice. and where does the signal go, does it go into the resistors?


1693597118680.png
 
Last edited:

danadak

Feb 19, 2021
673
Joined
Feb 19, 2021
Messages
673
So I made a 1 column, so how do you choose a bandwidth of the frequency that this column will turn on and and how do you make it so that when the frequency is the same but the amplitude goes up and so making the LED higher up the column light??? thanks for the KiCAD it's nice. and where does the signal go, does it go into the resistors?


View attachment 60566

Thats were the code and sampling come in.

1)So you create an array whose size is replication of your desired frequency resolution,
and then write a routine to start an A/D and fill that array.
2) Once filled you run the FFT code on that which creates an array where each ROW is
the frequency and two elements in the array, for that row, are real and imaginary magnitude
of the FFT computeted spectra complex magnitude
3) Then you code a routine to take each pair of elements and do the sqrt(sum of squares)
to convert to magnitude and save that.
4) Next you scan array by ROW and convert that MAGNITUDE to a LED value, how many
to turn on. Save that in an array.
5) Now you code the LED scan taking the Array values just computed and turn on GPIO pins
to set the correct number LEDs in that column.

Thats the basics.

I would advise you start posting on Infineon site on how to do the FFT with CMSIS library
and manage A/D conversion, etc.. I posted earleir a link to CMSIS project you can incorporate.

Earlier you posted :

and am having them vertical for a total of 30 LED's high (because they are sets of 10) and am having 16 columbs like picture attached. So there will be a grand total of 180 LED's in the matrix - look at the picture! I'm not too fussy about how to achieve this but all suggestions are welcome!

# LEDs = 16 COLUMN x 30 LEDs / COLUMN = 480 LEDs For that you need 16 + 30 GPIO = 46 GPIO.
Thats pretty close to exhausting that parts GPIO. You might post at Infineon site and ask if there is a
bigger board with more GPIO. Or two PSOC boards, like two of the 059 boards, and break up array
between them. Will take some coding as you will have to pass the FFT array from one board to the
other so it can do its scan.

1693597126664.png

You may be forced into a chipscale package to get enough I/O, ask Infineon if they
have a board that uses this.....

1693597559108.png
 
Last edited:

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
584
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
584
They switch on and off. They also amplify the signal.

Martin
I know they switch on and off, is it that one channel/column/band is assessed at a time
Thats werre the code and sampling come in.

1)So you create an array whose size is replication of your desired frequency resolution,
and then write a routine to start an A/D and fill that array.
2) Once filled you run the FFT code on that which creates an array where each ROW is
the frequency and two elements in the array, for that row, are real and imaginary magnitude
of the FFT computetd spectra complex magnitude
3) Then you code a routine to take each pair of elements and do the sqrt(sum of squares)
to convert to magnitude and save that.
4) Next you scan array by ROW and convert that MAGNITUDE to a LED value, how many
to turn on. Save that in an array.
5) Now you code the LED scan taking the Array values just computed and turn on GPIO pins
to set the correct number LEDs in that column.

Thats the basics.

Okay can you write it out idiot proof i.e.
1)So you create an array whose size is replication of your desired frequency resolution,
and then write a routine to start an A/D and fill that array.
You do this by.... and thank you for your help!!! the more words I have the faster I can learn. I am going to try and do It with the protocol that you have described, cheers
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
584
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
584
also I can't access email where I am so can't use the infineon forum because I can't register account
 

danadak

Feb 19, 2021
673
Joined
Feb 19, 2021
Messages
673
Set up a gmail account, access it like you access this site......you need to post at Infineon.....or have
a friend in another location set up an account for you.

Whats the URL for your companies website, Maglatronix ?
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
584
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
584
thanks danadak do you know how to shrink the components on the design window because I cant fit the entire circuit on the page
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
584
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
584
It's what my company is going to be called in the future It's not got a website
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
584
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
584
I'll get my friend to sign up to infineon my internets limited so cannot access social media or emails thankfully this site does not ask for a confirmation email to sign up that's the only reason why I can come on the site!
 
Top