Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Starting a Somewhat Extensive Project, Could Use Some Help

Jimoptera

Dec 2, 2014
Hiya, I'm new to these forums and hope to stay a part of it for a while. =D Anywho, I'm starting a project that will require a small screen with a very basic, almost entirely text-based interface that can display text files as well as a few basic images and maybe a game or two if i can. What I'd like to know is A) how to go about developing this interface and B) how to construct a circuit board that will accomodate this interface, the screen, buttons, and maybe a USB port to make managing text files and such easier. I have some experience with programming, but next to no experience with circuit boards and such. Anyone out there that could lend a hand?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi there
welcome to EP :)

this is pretty complex ... if you had just stayed text based as you originally said, rather than then expanding it to graphics etc it would have been easier

So you are really wanting to build a computer
what programming and electronics skills do you have ?
its going to require a lot of experience with both

cheers
Dave

Jimoptera

Dec 2, 2014
hi there
welcome to EP :)

this is pretty complex ... if you had just stayed text based as you originally said, rather than then expanding it to graphics etc it would have been easier

So you are really wanting to build a computer
what programming and electronics skills do you have ?
its going to require a lot of experience with both

cheers
Dave

Hi Dave,
I know my way around C++ pretty well and I've toyed around with BASIC enough to feel confident using it.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
and what about the electronics ?
as I said, this is going to be a very complex project

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
What is the size of the desired display?
LCD, or LED.
Wouldn't buying a RasPi and a small screen be ideal?