Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Stumped on this circuit blinking led with 1 transistor

stspringer

May 10, 2019
Hello All,
Hope you can help me in plain easy to understand terms, I am a newbie. Thanks

http://www.electronicshobbyprojects.com/basic-circuits/blinking-led-with-single-transistor.html
I followed this tutorial and used all the components specified and the led does not blink unless I touch the base with my finger. The tutorial says to not use the base to bend it up out of the way which i did.
So anyone know why the led won't blink on its own, without me touching the base with my finger, which is not even mentioned as an option in the tutorial.

Last edited:

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
The base is floating! The transistor needs to be driven somehow.
They are relying on the charge/discharge of C1, I don't really see any useful purpose being served by such a circuit?
Especially as a tutorial.!
M.

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

What is the supply voltage?
The page states that the supply voltage should be more than 9 Volts.
The circuit is based on the breakdown of the transistor.
With a lower voltage the circuit will not work.

Bertus

stspringer

May 10, 2019
Hello,

What is the supply voltage?
The page states that the supply voltage should be more than 9 Volts.
The circuit is based on the breakdown of the transistor.
With a lower voltage the circuit will not work.

Bertus
Hello,
I used 12 volts DC the video uses 12 volts too a 9 volt battery and 3 volt AA in series
I used my 12 volt power supply

stspringer

May 10, 2019
They are relying on the charge/discharge of C1, I don't really see any useful purpose being served by such a circuit?
M.

The point is this circuit is supposed to blink on its own with the base not being used. I was just following the video to try it out. I don't care if it has a purpose, but it did give some unanswered questions "the base is floating!" means nothing to me without a layman's explanation. I am a newbie know nothing like you do. Thanks