Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Super Basic LED strip project: Some questions

.sailtoth3moon

May 24, 2011
Hi everyone. This is an incredibly basic project I am doing since I have no experience with electronics, so please bare with me being a n00b.

I have a Randall rh 100 guitar amp head that I want to add a couple LED strips too.

I bought 2 led strips from walmart that are 12volt (meant to be wired to a car). Each package came with a 12 volt battery holder and battery that was rigged to a momentary switch to test the product in store through its packaging. I bought a toggle switch and would like to wire the two strips together (since they have a spot on the back to link them in a series) and run them through a toggle switch to the battery/ies.

Now my question is, how would I wire this? I had a single LED strip lit up through the battery holder that came with the package and the toggle switch worked. but when I plugged second strip in, it seemed to not work most of the time and the battery got really hot. I need to know whether the two 12 volt strips need to be powered by 2 12volt batteries or just one. Also, how should I wire this thing? Is there a way someone could create a diagram for me! And since the thing is meant to be hardwired to a car out of the package that the thing will not need any resistors? from the A23 batteries they lit up so I'm assuming the leds are already resisted.

I appreciate this, and would like to learn more.

So just to recap the materials I have are 2 led strips, 2 battery holders, 2 A23 batteries, a toggle switch, and a ton of wire and tools.

-Ryan

Last edited:

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
Hi Sail to the Moon!
are you wiring this to a car, or a car battery?
You need a double-pole switch.
Find out how much current the led strips will need, multply that number by 10, and get a solid double-pole switch from the auto-electrical supplier that can handle the current.