Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Surge protector

anoopcc

May 16, 2015
7
Joined
May 16, 2015
Messages
7
Hi friends,

I have a surge protector circuit.which has MoV,gas tube and inductor.I would like to simulate the circuit by applying 5kv to 10kv at input.Can any one help me on that or please advise how to simulate/simulating software etc
Regards
Anoop
 
Last edited:

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
5,178
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Messages
5,178
You can use LT SPICE and download the MOV, GDT and Inductor model from the manufactures website.
Thanks
Adam
 

anoopcc

May 16, 2015
7
Joined
May 16, 2015
Messages
7
You can use LT SPICE and download the MOV, GDT and Inductor model from the manufactures website.
Thanks
Adam
Hi,
Here I have few questions.
1. can I apply 10kv as an input in LT spice simulator.
2. I have connected GDT across ground and neutral lines. Let me know is that connection is correct. If yes can u provide the justification on the same.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,768
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,768
can I apply 10kv as an input in LT spice simulator.
Any voltage and waveform you like.

I have connected GDT across ground and neutral lines
The GDT should be placed between any two wires that are subject to high voltage spikes/surges. Note that the "arc voltage" has to be lower than the nominal voltage on your lines. Otherwise the GDT will burn with a permanent arc once it has been trigggered.
For datasheets and application information see e.g. here.
 

anoopcc

May 16, 2015
7
Joined
May 16, 2015
Messages
7
Any voltage and waveform you like.


The GDT should be placed between any two wires that are subject to high voltage spikes/surges. Note that the "arc voltage" has to be lower than the nominal voltage on your lines. Otherwise the GDT will burn with a permanent arc once it has been trigggered.
For datasheets and application information see e.g. here.
I am more interested to know if I use 350V MOV(20 mm dia) across line and neutral as a starting component how it can with stand 10kv
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,768
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,768
It can't. And it isn't supposed to. The MOV or GDC is designed to limit the voltage across the lines to a level that is save for the components behind it.
You need to take into account a voltage source with at least some inner resistance (e.g. from the conducting medium). When triggered, the MOV or GDC will allow a current to flow across its electrodes. This current will drop a voltage across the inner resistance of the voltage source, thus limiting the voltage across teh GDC.
This is the reason why all test generators for EMC effects use coupling elements: these offeer the required resistance and simulate the inner resistance of a real disturbing power source.
 

anoopcc

May 16, 2015
7
Joined
May 16, 2015
Messages
7
Here am attaching the schematic kindly let me now is this work for sure , if yes how much it will be?
 

Attachments

  • schematic.png
    schematic.png
    31.3 KB · Views: 204

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,768
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,768
let me now is this work for sure
To answer that question you need to state what it is expected to do. It will surely do something, bit I can't know whether it is what you want.
Generally this setup should work, provided the component values are chosen correctly.

how much it will be?
Sorry, I don't understand this part of your question? How much in terms of what?
 

anoopcc

May 16, 2015
7
Joined
May 16, 2015
Messages
7
To answer that question you need to state what it is expected to do. It will surely do something, bit I can't know whether it is what you want.
Generally this setup should work, provided the component values are chosen correctly.


Sorry, I don't understand this part of your question? How much in terms of what?
This is the arrangement made for 10kv surge as a type 1 protection. But I don't know exactly how it is by passing the surge of 10kv to ground. But it is tested for 7kv surge pulse. Here the first question I got , in the attached schematic MOV is focused to surge and I have read that if ,MOV voltage is 350V its clamping voltage will be 1000v.But datasheet is not specifying that. Below is the component details .Let me know how does it work


Sl no.

Component description

Location

MFG part number

1

MOV-350V-20mm Dia

MOV1 to MOV4

B88069X1380S102

2

GDT-600V-20KA-2 ELECTRODE -EPCOS

GD1 ,GD2

TVR20561KS

3

INDUCTOR-2.2/6A -TWO PIN

L1,L2

NEED TO DEVELOP LOCALLY

4

WIRES

J1,J2(TERMINAL)
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,768
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,768
You mixed up the numbers.
B88069X1380S102 is a GDT
TVR20561KS is a MOV and the datasheet does state the max. clamping voltage: 930 V.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,768
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,768
For an explanation please look up MOVs and GDTs on the internet, you'll find lots of explanations there.
For a simulation get a SPICE model from the manufacturer's website and incorporate it into yyour simulation. In our ressources section I have put a tutorial how to do it in LTSPICE. For other simulators please refer to the simulator's documentation.
 

anoopcc

May 16, 2015
7
Joined
May 16, 2015
Messages
7
can any one send me the model link for LT spcice the part number mentioned below, i tried i couldn't get it.

B88069X1380S102 (GDT)
 
Top