Maker Pro
Maker Pro

SWR and Radiated Energy

Bob Guercio

Dec 21, 2009
Hi All,

I'm new to this forum so let me say hello and a word about myself.

I am a retired engineer and an active ham operator in the United States. I love electronics and thoroughly enjoy understanding the principals from a practical viewpoint, meaning the less math the better.

That said I do have a question.

It is my understanding that all the energy that gets reflected back down the transmission line from the antenna is reflected back up the line once it hits the transmitter output. It is also my understanding that this reflection is 100% and that if you had a perfect transmission line with no losses, 100% of the original energy put into a line would get to the antenna regardless of the SWR. In other words, absent losses, if 50% gets reflected back to the transmitter, this 50% finds its way to the antenna and due to the SWR being what it is, 50% of the 50% then gets reflected back to the transmitter. This back and forth goes on exponentially until all the power put out by the transmitter is radiated.

In other words, with a lossless line, the SWR has no impact upon the final power output to the antenna.

Please confirm that this is true and if so, I don't understand how you could have 100% reflection from the transmitter/transmission line interface. How could this be explained?

Thank you,

Bob, AC2Z

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
Welcome to the forum Bob!

I'm not an authority on this but it's my understanding that the energy reflected from the antenna is more or less absorbed (& turned into heat) by the output stage, certainly not reflected 100% back again.
The transmitter can be said to consist of an ideal generator and a 50 ohm output impedance in series. A signal returned into this by a 50 ohm line would be totally absorbed by the output impedance, just like it would be 100% absorbed by an ideal 50 ohm antenna. It doesn't matter if there's a zero impedance generator in series.

Bob Guercio