Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Taking the leap, breaking the Leap Pad

grap3_ap3

Sep 19, 2012
Hello!

This forum looks to be pretty great and I hope I can give as much as I've gotten in a short time of skimming the posts! I am pretty new to electronics in general and have taken on a fun little project just to see what is and is not possible with electronics.

I've taken apart my kid's old Leap Pad. This board holds an Atmel 228. I'm interested in learning JTAG but there are so few resources that aren't over my head so I'm hoping to find some help as I try to understand. I've attached some pictures of the board after dismantled. I'd like to get to the point where I can talk to the JTAG interface (presuming I'm correct in identifying that in this case marked "J4") and learn how to talk to it. Can I dump/read the firmware? Can I write and flash my own?

I've done some work with the arduino and enjoy that but have just started reading about JTAG but it's been quite hard for my "software guy brain" to adapt to understanding the hardware world. Your input and guidance is appreciated.

Attachments

• 2012-09-18_20-25-01_734.jpg
    2012-09-18_20-25-01_734.jpg
    155.6 KB · Views: 349
  • 2012-09-18_20-25-11_567.jpg
    2012-09-18_20-25-11_567.jpg
    151.6 KB · Views: 300
  • 2012-09-18_20-26-05_423.jpg
    2012-09-18_20-26-05_423.jpg
    129.1 KB · Views: 367

grap3_ap3

Sep 19, 2012
Just a bump..

all those views and not a reply to be had :(

I soldered some connections to the JTAG points of the board. Today I am working to figure out how to get them talking to my laptop.

I'm working on Fedora 16 Linux and have installed a couple packages that I'm hoping will be helpful. What I don't know is how to map the pins of the chip to the JTAG points though I'm seeing some tools that say they'll help with that.