Maker Pro
Maker Pro

TDS460 oscilloscope

luca120

Sep 4, 2014
11
Joined
Sep 4, 2014
Messages
11
hi, I have a big problem with my oscilloscope tektronix tds460, this unit wont power on, I have change all caps on PSU unit, but anything changed, I haven't the circuit for this oscilloscope, I can't check the voltages, have ideas about what could be?
 

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
4,098
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
4,098
hi, I have a big problem with my oscilloscope tektronix tds460, this unit wont power on, I have change all caps on PSU unit, but anything changed, I haven't the circuit for this oscilloscope, I can't check the voltages, have ideas about what could be?
Why can you not check the voltages?
Do you have any other test equipment?

If it won't turn on, the first place too look would be for 'power' which usually involves finding obvious physical damage like bulged caps, blown components, or cracked/dry solder joints.
If you can't test for voltages you might as well replace all the components in each section of the board at once XD
 

luca120

Sep 4, 2014
11
Joined
Sep 4, 2014
Messages
11
I can't check the voltages becose i hevan't the circuit for this board, i can check the voltages for the rest the unit, reading around, it could be the castom chip.
 

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
4,098
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
4,098
I can't check the voltages becose i hevan't the circuit for this board, i can check the voltages for the rest the unit, reading around, it could be the castom chip.
If you have a meter, it should be easy to determine the proper voltages enter the board, and to locate the ICs used for regulation based on part numbers. You will need to follow the lines.
Can you show a picture?
 

luca120

Sep 4, 2014
11
Joined
Sep 4, 2014
Messages
11
I can attach the pictures tomorrow ok?
Not easy because all component are difficult to reach and identify
 

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
4,098
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
4,098
I can attach the pictures tomorrow ok?
Not easy because all component are difficult to reach and identify
Of course. I am not in a rush ;)

If you don't have the schematic, then all we can do is look at the parts, but you will need to open it enough to identify them. We are looking at the power supply first. So any parts related to or connected to will be looked at.
 

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,505
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,505
Be very careful to keep well away from the EHT. -12kV is an experience you probably don't want to have. In addition it will fry your meter. (I'm assuming its a CRO)
 

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010
1,252
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
1,252
Have you performed the primary troubleshooting procedure from the service manual?

The service manual also makes it clear why no schematics are provided. Is it normal procedure to ignore the service manual?
Screenshot-42.png
 

Attachments

  • TEK400-Service.pdf
    104.6 KB · Views: 98

luca120

Sep 4, 2014
11
Joined
Sep 4, 2014
Messages
11
Ok, I have saw the datasheet, for this oscilloscope, and I have found the problem, the castom chip tek on power supply is dead :(, but I have found the compatible unit for this oscilloscope ;)
 
Top