Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Thermoelectric Cooling Cabinet Project

David Murray

Nov 26, 2015
Hi, let me start by saying I dont know much about electronics, which is why im here!

Im a product designer and im working on a new device. A breif overview of the device is a cabinet that is placed over a radiator to dry clothes in. I want to condense the warm moist air given off by the drying clothes into water, to prevent it from creating mould indoors. This will be essentially a cooling cabinet with a heat sink inside it.

I want to use the heat of the radiator and a thermoelectric generator to produce electricity to then go on to power another Thermo electric plate, making use of its cool side to cool down the cabinet.

Firstly, I know this is an inefficent method, but really want to avoid any external electric input. Secondly, could i literally just connect one TEG up to another?
Im assuming that it gives off an AC and that this would not need to be inverted. If it was an AC i thought that there would be a direct relationship between the heat input and the final cooling output.

Thanks for taking the time to read, I apologise for my electronics illiteracy.

Cheers,

David

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
I want to use the heat of the radiator and a thermoelectric generator to produce electricity
The electric energy a thermoelectric generator (TEG) produces comes from the thermal energy of the source, the hot air in your case. By giving up energy to the thermolelectric generator, the air will cool down and water will start to condense on the thermoelectric generator.

Firstly, I know this is an inefficent method,
"Inefficient" is an understatement. Immensely inneficient is more to the point.
The efficiency of a TEG is less than 10%, so the energy output you can expect is rather low. Using the little energy produced to cool a plate/heatsink by e.g. a Peltier element again has an efficiency fo < 15%.
Overall efficiency is then 10%*15%=1.5%.