Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Thourough and systematic information about safety in dealing with measurement equipment

Woland

Mar 16, 2017
Hi, I’m a graduate student in Physics in Italy and I’ll probably start a Master in Electronic Engineering soon. I’d like to build a home lab, in order to be able to repeat what i see and do in class, and also to experiment and learn on my own. Before starting to use equipment (wich I’m in the process of buying) I’d like to learn as much as i can about SAFETY with equipment, expecially with oscilloscopes, multimeters, function generators, supplies, soldering devices and pretty much everything is expected to be used for home projects. Notes, textboos, links, really any complete, systematic and reliable treatment of safety measures and behaviours is ok.

I have very good understanding of electromagnetism and basic familiarity with lab equipment, had only 2 courses about practical electronics: an introductory course (basic electrotechnology(?)), and a bit more advanced one in wich the most advanced thing I built was an 8-bit ADC and DAC converter. I know it's not that impressive but my university is heavily theory focused. My first post here, thanks in advance :)

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
One of the things that is usually required is a mains isolation transformer, if the electrical service in Italy is the same as many other parts of the world, the Ground conductor is referenced to one of the supply conductors, in order to create a Neutral.
The danger comes when using an oscilloscope etc on mains, non-isolated equipment as the GND or common lead of the scope is usually at Earth ground,therefore if a scope is used on the said equipment and comes in contact with a live conductor , it can cause an electrical short circuit from power to ground, to prevent this a 1:1 isolation means is used.
M.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Ciao Woland.

An isolation transformer is a good thing to have.