Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Timer to trigger another timed pulse

ron2k_1

Dec 17, 2014
Hi all,

First post here. Full disclosure: I'm no where near qualified of building this on my own. My background is in accounting, but I'm a nerd by nature. I read a lot, and definitely not afraid of trying out new things. And this here is pretty cool (and inexpensive) to try. Kindly indulge me with some of your precious time and knowledge....

So in essence what I want to accomplish is that when my car alarm goes off, I want it to trigger a phone call to my cell phone using timer control switches like those below and one of those old phones with keypad that allow you press and hold a key [for about 3 seconds] to autodial a number.

My thought is that I need to buy 2 of these:
http://amzn.com/B00GIBTQMI
51nz5IFGHFL._SL1001_.jpg

On the right hand SPDT side there is a "CB", "COM", and "CK" connection. So with my limited understanding of electronics, I think I need to do this:
1. Set the first timer board to 10 secs
2. Set the second timer board to 3 seconds
[I need 10 secs on the first switch because I don't the second timer to trigger when the horn chirps when locking or unlocking the vehicle. 3 Secs on the second switch is needed because I need it send a 3 sec pulse to the phone to trigger an autodial)

On the 10 Sec Timer control board
3. Connect a normal 12 VDC from inside the vehicle to VCC (Anode) and COMM,
4. Negative electrode to ground inside the vehicle
5. Wire "IN" to the alarm horn, to trigger only when horn is on for more than 10 sec
6. I believe CB is NC, so I need to wire CB to "IN" of the second (3 sec timer unit). I need it to trigger only after 10 seconds of "siren on" has elapsed.

On the 3 sec Timer control board:
7. VCC and Negative to a normal power supply from inside the vehicle
8. "IN" comes from CB/NC from 10 seconds timer unit
9. Wire "CK"/"NO" and COMM to the phone (Key #3) like this:
F4NT0QVFTM73N9B.LARGE.jpg