Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Timing Circuit? Counter?

Ernest George

Jul 18, 2014
Hi guys;

I'm very new to electronics and have little to no experience and so, I decided to create a mainboard for my electronics project :eek:

Believe it or not, it's going pretty well and I'm probably 90% done before having the prototype boards made up.

The last thing on my wish list is a timing circuit. I don't know if there are any easy 'canned' solutions out there but this is the general functionality;

An input is monitored for a 'normal' voltage of 3.6 => 4.4 volts - if it sees this the circuit does nothing
If the input shows .7 => 1.3 volts then the circuit begins counting to 3 seconds. If the voltage does not return to 3.6 => 4.4 volts then it grounds an output until re-set (powered off).

I don't know how to build this but I have run into a number of recent IC's that are called 'timers' and this has me wondering....perhaps it's not as hard to implement as I feared?

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
How accurate do you want it?
There are simple methods you could employ with RC circuits. (Resistor Capacitor)
You could use a 555 Timer, or other ICs.

Ernest George

Jul 18, 2014
Hi Gryd3 - thanks for the response!!

It's funny that you mention the 555 because that's the exact 'timer' I kept running into even though I know nothing about it, and when I researched it, I understood even less :rolleyes:o_O
Accuracy is not that important. As long as it did not activate prior to 3 seconds - that's important. Even if it was off by a second on the other side it would not be a big deal. Simple is important as I'm pretty much lost when it comes to creating/designing a circuit. I am working with resistors and capacitors at the moment so they don't scare me (yet!).

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
haha... well a 555 is a timer, and a very famous one at that!
I will have to think something up. Have you played with transistors yet?

Ernest George

Jul 18, 2014