Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Total noob building a mushroom incubator for oyster mushrooms!

moshingrobot

Oct 22, 2012
Hello everyone! I just started messing around with building my own incubator. I watched a dozen or so youtube videos which led me to believe that I could use a water heater thermostat to make an incubator. The way they made a chicken egg incubator in the youtube video seemed really easy.... HOWEVER... the water heater thermostats only go from 90 degrees to 120 degrees.

Mushroom mycelium (basically white stuff that forms before the actual mushroom develops) can't really deal with temps above 86 degrees...

So, then I thought that maybe I could use one of those thermostats that you see inside of houses... well that's the other problem. You see, those don't work because the vast majority of digital thermostats do not use 120 or 240VAC, they run off of a 24VAC, which should be produced by an appropriate transformer. Apparently, I also need a relay which can take a 24VAC signal from the thermostat.

So I am a bit screwed because I can't figure out how to wire something like this.

To make it easy, I want to use regular parts that I can find at a lowes or a home depot or radioshack, and a reptile heating mat, or a lightbulb (whichever one is easier and less likely to malfunction).

I was also thinking, and some might say this is dangerous, that I could just mess with one of those water heater thermostats and get the switch to go to a lower temperature. But, I haven't played around with one yet so I don't know if I can do that.

So where do I start? If anyone can make a wiring diagram, I can probably figure it out, other than that, I am a noob when it comes to electronics.

Thanks! And here is the youtube video that I was talking about.

Last edited:

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
What kind of temp range are you looking for?