Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Total noob looking for getting started advice

Scottomatic

Jun 14, 2012
Im a complete newbie in the realm of playing with electronic parts. A friend has an idea for a cool little device, so we are goofing with it, and I could use some getting started advice from those with knowledge. I want to hook together a LCD screen with a master board and a way to select options on a programmed overlay. I can handle the programming part, but the hardware I'm not so good at. Can someone give me some recommendations on what hardware to start with? I need it all to be small, or course. I have a color LCD screen out of an old Sony cell phone that is about 1.5" x 1.5". What kind of board would allow me to add overlay programming and would have a video output to the screen, and a video input for a camera, as well as a way to add a directional switch? Thanks so much in advance for any advice. - Scotto

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
This is just a wee bit advanced for a newbie. If you want to learn electronics, try first to do something a little more modest, like lighting and LED with the correct current and voltage.

Bob

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
Yeah, a little much for a newbie to design and build... Get a single board computer or hack one of the the *nix based handheld video devices... Another option is the new Raspberry Pi boards...

Scottomatic

Jun 14, 2012
Yeah i thought so

I figured this was a big bite to chew for starters, but i'm determined. If i can at least get in the right neighborhood of parts, I can learn pretty fast.

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
it is advanced. you could start with something like arduino but it has limitations, in fact I highly doubt it will stream video, or even a decent picture. but on the plus side it does get you a start. then there is always the adk boards that allow you to hook it up to an android phone which will do most of your work.