Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Transistor assisted ignition circuit

qwerty009

Dec 8, 2013
Hi, i'm working with one old 2 cylinder 4 stroke stationary engine - as a winter hobby.
Originally it has magneto ignition, but since it's quite hard to start i thought i'd try battery +ignitions coil with transistor assisted firing.

I purchased velleman kit K2543 and altho it works it has lot of shortcomings.
allumage.png

Main shortcoming being that it dissipates LOT of heat from resistors - so i'm looking to improve it so i can put in into closed plastic box.

Since i'm no pro when it comes to electronics i have some questions how to do that...

1) I tried to substitute TIP162 with IGBT but for some strange reason IGBT didn't switch as it should have. When points were closed and Base of 2n2219 is effectively grounded it should not conduct and therefore GATE of IGBT should have received full 12V and be turned ON (saturated). But what happened is that there was some ~7V on it gate and it wasn't fully on and it dissipated lot of heat. What might have caused this?
With TIP162 it works fine (tip 162 doesn't overheat). If i can use IGBT i can substitude 150ohm resistors with single 4,7k resistor or similar.

2) Why are there 2 zener diodes in series? Why not single Zener?

I also found one more circuit that has one interesting thing that i don't understand.
ignition.gif

D1 and D3. If they are connected like they are and there will be voltage spike let's say 200V and zener will conduct then voltage spike will got to Gate of transistor - won't it destroy it?
Other thing that i don't understand is that if there are inductive spikes then how won't they reach first transistor?

Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
1) A positive voltage at the base of the TIP162 opens the transistor and Vbe is approx. 0.6V. The transistor conducts and Vce is ~0.2V /give or take a few mV). Therefore Vce <Vbe and the zener diodes do not conduct.