Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Transistor LED Circuit

AcoLED

Oct 17, 2018
Hi,

I am a mechanical engineer so I have a basic idea of electronics but need some expertise and clarification on an idea.

I would like to set up LEDs in series with a transistor between each one acting as a switch. I want the transistor to have inputs of 24V and then the output voltage of the previous LED. I want the transistor to output based on the previous LED voltage until that voltage falls below the forward voltage of the next LED (typically between 2.6 and 3.0V) at which point it will output the 24V.

I'm trying to think how this could be configured with a MOSFET or darlington pair but, again, I don't have enough electrical knowledge to determine the feasibility.

Please let me know how this might be done or if it could be done at all.

Thanks.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome to EP.

I may not have understood your scheme completely, but it from what I understand it will not work. If you put transistors in series between a string of LEDs, the LEDs will all be off as soon as a single transistor is off. Or vice versa, for any LED to be on all transistors have to be on and consequently all LEDs will be on. There is no way to control individual LEDs by such a series connection.

Could you please describe the effect you want to achieve in terms of LEDs and whatever control signals you have? A diagram would be best. That way we may come up with a suitable circuit.

AcoLED

Oct 17, 2018
Thank you for your reply.

I don't want the transistor to ever switch "off." If it's possible I would like to have it switch between the two different voltages. Below is a diagram of what I am thinking. Not all of the components are or have to be exactly as they are shown but this is the idea I am hoping to achieve.

So from the diagram, once the output voltage across the LED is less than ~3.0V, I would like to switch to the incoming 24V.

upload_2018-10-17_11-17-16.png

Attachments