Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Triac problem

quincisoft

Nov 4, 2023
7
Joined
Nov 4, 2023
Messages
7
Hi, I use a small mac97a6 triac to control a small 10w LED lamp with a moc3021 photo coupler driven with an esp32 output. The problem happens when I power the triac circuit with 230 V for a moment the lamp turns on, but this does not always happen. I tried changing the Gate R (330 ohm) but nothing..... Do you have any suggestions?
 

Attachments

  • triac.png
    triac.png
    7.4 KB · Views: 8

danadak

Feb 19, 2021
797
Joined
Feb 19, 2021
Messages
797
Not supplying proper gate trigger ? Compare gate driving circuit to this :

1699116018672.png

Regards, Dana.
 

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
2,125
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
2,125
Operation is correct when there is input on the moc the lamp comes on, and when I remove it it goes off. The problem only exists when I power the triac part for the first time.
I'm not saying you're wrong. I'm saying I cannot believe you. More information is necessary.
Do you have the entire original schematic?
And any and all modifications you might have made.Thank you.
 

quincisoft

Nov 4, 2023
7
Joined
Nov 4, 2023
Messages
7
I'm not saying you're wrong. I'm saying I cannot believe you. More information is necessary.
Do you have the entire original schematic?
And any and all modifications you might have made.Thank you.
The diagram is what I inserted, nothing more. Also because if I keep the part relating to the gate deactivated the problem remains.
Even using the scheme you suggested where only the R values change, the problem remains
 

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
2,125
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
2,125
Even using the scheme you suggested where only the R values change, the problem remains
Very well... I have very broad shoulders I'm more than capable of taking the brunt of your abuse. Meant for someone else! Good luck to you...
 

quincisoft

Nov 4, 2023
7
Joined
Nov 4, 2023
Messages
7
Very well... I have very broad shoulders I'm more than capable of taking the brunt of your abuse. Meant for someone else! Good luck to you...
I'm sorry, I didn't mean to offend you. I think there was a misunderstanding. I just said I tried your solution. Nothing else.
 

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
2,125
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
2,125
I'm sorry, I didn't mean to offend you. I think there was a misunderstanding. I just said I tried your solution. Nothing else.
You need not to be sorry. My Superior @danadak offered the solution. I provided reference as how to navigate the datasheet for your triac. It is why I said good luck to you... Because luck favors the prepared. It will show you what is necessary to trigger the gate of your triac.;)
Take a photo of your setup your connections that is my suggestion.
 
Last edited:

quincisoft

Nov 4, 2023
7
Joined
Nov 4, 2023
Messages
7
Having noticed that the problem also occurred with the gate control circuit, I found this solution which seems to work.
 

Attachments

  • mio triac.png
    mio triac.png
    13.7 KB · Views: 1

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
2,125
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
2,125
You're not having a problem with the triac, ESP 32 or optocoupler . You're having a problem plugging in circuits you find on the internet to fit your application. In case you want to experiment with different applications you can go ahead and try these as well... you won't learn diddly squat. But that's not the point so for future reference...1699550465063.jpg1699550474116.jpg1699550522350.jpg1699550514181.jpg1699550534629.jpg1699550544666.jpg1699550554956.jpg1699550562377.jpg1699550569722.jpg1699550575407.jpg
 

quincisoft

Nov 4, 2023
7
Joined
Nov 4, 2023
Messages
7
You're not having a problem with the triac, ESP 32 or optocoupler . You're having a problem plugging in circuits you find on the internet to fit your application. In case you want to experiment with different applications you can go ahead and try these as well... you won't learn diddly squat. But that's not the point so for future reference...
Ok, thank
 

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
2,125
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
2,125
Ok, thank
You're welcome, kiddo.
Wouldn't you like to know why that capacitor is there?
Why there are different values of resistance in series with the gate; although the orientation of components in the schematic are same?
 
Top