Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Trying to create a sunrise/sunset power up/down LED strip

marvology

Dec 1, 2021
This is something I want to make for an aquarium, but I'm a novice with electronics. Here are my constraints:
  • When power is applied I want LEDs to slowly power up (15-30 minutes) and when power cut to slowly power down (15-30 minutes). Very gradual.
  • Don't want to use a battery, want to use capacitors
  • Want to keep capacitance at "safe to handle" levels. If it becomes a serious shock risk, then I can compromise on power up/down time. 10 minutes at least I'd say but prefer longer.
LED strip I'm using 5 meter strip:
* 4.92 A
* 59 W
* 12 V

I found a YouTube video with instructions online, unfortunately the creator's suggested max amperage is too low.

_screenshot_
A2gtPpJ.png

Does anyone know how I can update this circuit for my needs? Any help is much appreciated!

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Welcome to EP!
An analogue circuit using discrete components similar to those in the video is totally unsuitable for ramp times more than just a few seconds. A microcontroller or some other digital timer would be the preferred tool for the job.
want to use capacitors
What for?
If it becomes a serious shock risk
Why would it? Your LED strip requires just 12V, which is not a shock risk (unless applied through your skin).

Last edited:

Nanren888

Nov 8, 2015
Basically, that's a lot of lighting for a long time. Maybe need to revise your aims.

59 watts of lighting, for 30 minutes, if full one, is 59*30*60 = 100KJoules, so given that it's dimming, let's say 50KJ needed.
A conversion system 100% efficient from storage to lighting, and l;et's say as suggested stored at 12volts
Energy in capacitor E = 1/2 C V^2, so capacitor needed about
C = 2*E/(V^2) = 2* 50E3 /(144) = 737 Farads.
Did I goof that up?
So, options include storing at higher voltage and adding something to do the conversion? That v^2 helps there.
Maybe consider a power supply, or battery?