Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Understanding a circuit for serial communication - CRT monitor

--james--

Nov 19, 2016
Hi, I have a CRT monitor that has a small circuit board for controlling monitor adjustments. Basically, this board holds 5 switches and 2 LED indicators. It communicates with the monitor using some type of serial protocol. I could really use some help understanding this circuit. Ultimately, I am trying to interface with the monitor using a serial port. By "interface," I am talking just about the control protocol, not video. Video is through regular VGA. Unfortunately I lost the board while building a project, and I need some way to control the monitor.

I've attached 3 pictures of the board. Sorry there is a little bit of glare in them. I know it makes it difficult to read some of the labels. The board is really well labeled, which definitely helps. I'm a mechanical engineer, so please forgive my spotty understanding of this circuit. I'll try to sum up my investigation so far.

* There are 6 lines: 2 are ground, 1 is +5V, 2 are for the LEDs, and the final one is labeled "KBD1." I assume this is a uni-directional serial data line. The monitor sends the LED commands on dedicated wires, but the control board sends commands via the KBD1 line.

* There are 5 buttons: power, up, down, 1 and 2. The power button just turns the monitor on and off. The up and down buttons move up and down through the on screen menu. The 1 and 2 buttons are context sensitive, but generally 1 is OK and 2 is cancel. Pressing the 1 button brings up the menu. All of the monitor control functions like geometry, color temp, brightness/contrast, and de-gaussing are in these menus. There are no other buttons on the monitor.