Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Unexpected result of IR2110 for the purpose of Class D amplifier

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,608
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,608
Would you mind sharing your circuit and more details as to what you expect and what happens unexpectedly?
How else do you think we may be able toi lend a helping hand?
 

thomasxdddddd

Nov 3, 2020
10
Joined
Nov 3, 2020
Messages
10
Sorry, I have just attached the capture of the circuit, but the LTSpice file for simulation of it can be found within the google drive link above. What I get from the simulation is only as a flat voltage, not too sure if I have done wrong
upload_2020-11-25_9-49-6.png
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,608
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,608
Can you upload the full .asc file so we can check it?
Have you checked the inputs HIN, LIN to the IRF2110? are these signals correct? I think you may be surprised when you check these signals against the datasheet of the IRF2110 and the allowed values.
Also check pin 6 (G) of the LT1016. It is in my view wrongly connected to .5 V.
 

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,212
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,212
I agree with Harald about Hin and Lin values. Also, if Vdd is 12V the Hin and Lin signals need to reach more than half that to be recognised as 'logic high'.
The IR2110g model you list is an old version of mine. I'm working on an update which should behave better.
 

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,212
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,212
Here's the revised IR2110g model. Change the file extension from .txt to .sub.
 

Attachments

  • IR2110g.txt
    1.6 KB · Views: 0

bertus

Moderator
Nov 8, 2019
2,630
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
2,630
Hello,

As @Alec_t said, the logic high threshold is just a little bit above half the supply voltage.
See this graph from the datasheet:
IR2110 logic high threshold.png

Bertus
 

Attachments

  • ir2110.pdf
    328.6 KB · Views: 1

thomasxdddddd

Nov 3, 2020
10
Joined
Nov 3, 2020
Messages
10
I agree with Harald about Hin and Lin values. Also, if Vdd is 12V the Hin and Lin signals need to reach more than half that to be recognised as 'logic high'.
The IR2110g model you list is an old version of mine. I'm working on an update which should behave better.
Thank you for your reply, I have a looked into it again, shall I input 5 V as my VDD? I have tried, The inputs of IR2110(below) looks good, but the output(above) does not look too good.
upload_2020-11-26_12-35-24.pngupload_2020-11-26_12-41-9.png
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,608
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,608
The gnd connection to the LT1016 is still incorrect. G is connected to -5 V instead of 0V.

The plots showing V(nxx) are useless to us. We do not know the names of the nodes. Use labels to name the nodes (F4 function key). Then the names will appear in the schematic and the plot, allowing to identify the signals.
 

thomasxdddddd

Nov 3, 2020
10
Joined
Nov 3, 2020
Messages
10
The gnd connection to the LT1016 is still incorrect. G is connected to -5 V instead of 0V.

The plots showing V(nxx) are useless to us. We do not know the names of the nodes. Use labels to name the nodes (F4 function key). Then the names will appear in the schematic and the plot, allowing to identify the signals.
Thank you very much and sorry that I am not too familiar with the simulation software.
I have just connected the LT1016 to the GND and named the nodeupload_2020-11-26_14-31-8.png
upload_2020-11-26_14-32-53.pngupload_2020-11-26_14-33-10.png
 

Attachments

  • Project(Draft) - Week 8(IR2110g).asc
    4.3 KB · Views: 1

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,608
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,608
That looks rather o.k. to me. Nodes c and d are inverse to each other. Switching occurs when V(a) crosses V(b).

Edit: Why is V4 a pulse voltage source? That should be DC. Also V3 and V5. These are supply voltages and should be steady DC.
Also V3 and V4 can be replaced by a single voltage source. Cf. your original circuit in post #3.


You may also want to read this discussion (quite old) about a similar circuit.
 
Last edited:

thomasxdddddd

Nov 3, 2020
10
Joined
Nov 3, 2020
Messages
10
That looks rather o.k. to me. Nodes c and d are inverse to each other. Switching occurs when V(a) crosses V(b).

Edit: Why is V4 a pulse voltage source? That should be DC. Also V3 and V5. These are supply voltages and should be steady DC.
Also V3 and V4 can be replaced by a single voltage source. Cf. your original circuit in post #3.


You may also want to read this discussion (quite old) about a similar circuit.
Thank you for your reminder, I will double-check with my supervisor as he says all sources need to be in transient, but I think your view is more reasonable. I will come back to this issue tomorrow

Also, thank you for the sharing of link, I will take my time looking at it
 
Top