Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Using 3 Channel Video Switcher Module with Arduino

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
146
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
146
Hey all I am wondering how to go about switch from camera 1, 2 or 3 using this 3 Channel Video Switcher Module on ebay here.

kC1Ig.jpg


Since there's only V+, V- and signal for the "switch" it looks to take a PWM but I am not quite sure if that's correct or not. If correct then how would I (in code) send that out for each camera to change?

UPDATE

Well I've tried the following code:
Code:
int LED_pin = 9; // must be one of 3, 5, 6, 9, 10 or 11 for PWM

void setup() {
  pinMode(LED_pin, OUTPUT); // Initialize pin for output
}

void loop() {
  int dtwait = 1000; // Pause interval, milliseconds
  int V1=20, V2=220, V3=120; // 8-bit output values for PWM duty cycle
  analogWrite(LED_pin, V1);
  delay(dtwait);
  analogWrite(LED_pin, V2);
  delay(dtwait);
  analogWrite(LED_pin, V3);
  delay(dtwait);
}
and just to test it I hooked up 2 green LEDs to digital pin 9 and I can confirm it does light the led's in 3 stages. From bright, medium and then dim-ish.

So I went ahead and powered up the FPV by hooking it up like so:
jxLkX.jpg


I'm not getting any voltage off that pin on the FPV. I even hooked up a volt meter and tested it without the LEDs attached to that pin and still had no reading.

Someone suggested looking at this post http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1955631 but there so much code that I'm not sure what i need and what i don't need.

What could I be doing incorrectly?
 
Last edited:

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
8,393
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
8,393
What's the IC on there? And why have you connected an LED to it? It's a three-to-one video signal selector, right?
 

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
146
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
146
I hooked the leds up so i know what video IN is currently being triggered via the PWM. I can not find the IC's manual it uses nor have any help from the few that sell it on eBay.
 

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
8,393
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
8,393
But you have a module there, do you? What are the markings on the IC?
 

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
146
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
146
One looks like it says P15V 331QE BZ10
DUyv7.jpg


While the other side has one that maybe says STC 15F104E F-4V938.A
Y2oNp.jpg
 

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,510
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,510
I think you need a datasheet on that module.
 

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
8,393
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
8,393
I guess that's a good reason to buy from real companies like sparkfun instead of anonymous eBay vendors. No doubt that module was cheap, but if you can't use it because there's no documentation, it has no value at all :-(
 

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
146
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
146
Alright I got it.

Using the #include <Servo.h> Servo library I was able to get the following values confirmed that switched the video input:
Code:
cam1 = 0-64 and also 153-180
cam2 = 65-123
cam3 = 124-152
The arduino code looks like this:
Code:
#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;
int pos = 0;

void setup()
{
  myservo.attach(9);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos += 1)  // goes from 0 degrees to 180 degrees 
  {                                  // in steps of 1 degree 
    myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos' 
    Serial.println(pos);
    delay(1000);                     // waits 1 minute so i can see the value
  }
}
 
Top