Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Using a PIR to both turn on and turn off LEDs

Looeewoo

Jan 4, 2024
I want to install lights under a low table, so that e.g. waving a hand underneath turns on the lights, and waving again would switch them off as opposed to the PIR timing out. I have seen a circuit using an Arduino, but I would like to be able to do this using standard components.
I'm very new to electronics so I don't have much of a clue on how to do this other than I suspect that the PIR would be set to single detect with low delay and would somehow be able to set a flag off and on by going high briefly.

Looeewoo

Jan 4, 2024

Or a latching relay.

Regards, Dana.
Hi Dana, thanks for the reply, but that thread only refers to switching off with PIR.
I'm looking for a solution where the PIR will act as both off-and-on.

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
You might be better off with a simple ‘clap’ switch. Clap and it turns on, clap again and it turns off.
A PIR will only turn on and time out. It’s just a switch with a timer.
You can of course have it switch off when activated too. But not both. The poor PIR won’t know whether it’s coming or going :)

danadak

Feb 19, 2021

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
Your question needs more information.

What power source is available for the control circuit / latching relay / whatever?

Also, what are the power requirements for the LEDs? LED product page / datasheet?

I like latching relays, but they tend to be big and expensive. What is your skil set for assembling a small circuit on perf-board?

ak

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
I want to install lights under a low table, so that e.g. waving a hand underneath turns on the lights, and waving again would switch them off as opposed to the PIR timing out.
Application needs a lot more thought on the operation.
Too many if's or but's.
All in all it raises more questions than answers.

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
Here you go buddy.