Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Using Arduino to read bipolar signal (from plants)

chiara

Jul 31, 2013
Dear all,
I'm an art student, I'm building a circuit that monitors electrical signals in plants, and I'm trying to read it with an Arduino.

The circuit I found is this:
1-s2.0-S1537511009000440-gr2.jpg

Description: "The signal from the electrode was transmitted into a CA3140 impedance converter,which is an integrated circuit operational amplifier that provides very high input impedance, very low input current, and high speed performance (Intersil Corporation), and is then connected to an AD620 amplifier. After amplification, the amplitude range of the electrical signals was 4000mV. In the greenhouse, the distance from the detection site to the computer is 30m, so a voltage to current converter (V/I ) is used so that the signal could be transferred reliably. After the long distance transfer, the current signal is converted back into a voltage signal by an I/V converter."

In my case, I have an Arduino instead of a computer, and it is near to the plant, so I assume that
- I don't need the V/I I/V
- I have to use an Op Amp Summing Amplifier for arduino, like here:
http://masteringelectronicsdesign.com/measure-a-bipolar-signal-with-an-arduino-board/

Do you have any advice on what would be the best way to adapt the circuit? How to choose the right OPAMP? I tried AD820 with no success.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
The CA3140 is being used for its high input impedance. You should use that opamp or an equivalent high impedance amplifier for the front end.
Since you don't want/need the noise immunity of the current output, remove the complete circuit to the right of the AD620s input pins (2 and 3), leaving only the two CA3140 plus the respective passive compnents.