Maker Pro
Maker Pro

using power tool batteries !

promomdis

Jul 3, 2017
Hi Folks - yep another newbie here

Got an idea for my camper van and wanted some experts to state how stupid it is or realistic :)

I want use a 12v power tool battery as I have a few for my power drill . I want to use it to run the lights and fan in the back of a van. I have one charger.

My question is would it be possible to use a charger to manually/automatically systematically charge each battery once the van is connected to a 240v electrical hook up. Then a means to switch to then draw the power from a battery or the batteries if they are in series- . So the issue is to not disconnect from the power to be able to charge the batteries.

Anyway I will keep an eye out for some advice.

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Yes you can no problem. You need a battery charger with power path control. This basically charges the battery whilst also supplying power to the lights and fan. When the power is removed then the batteries take over. How you connect the battery packs up is down to you :)
Adam

dave9

Mar 5, 2017
Yes, simple run a wire from each charger contact to the respective battery contact, or easier still would probably be to run the wires from the charger contacts (open it and solder to the circuit board) out to the lights and fan.

You would need to measure whether the charger drains the battery while connected, when the charger has no AC mains input.

Frankly with a vehicle having a much higher capacity primary/starter battery, I would just use that and have a low voltage cutoff so it doesn't accidentally run the battery down too low.