Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Using TSMC 0.18 um library on LTSpice

Muhammadreza

Jun 3, 2017
3
Joined
Jun 3, 2017
Messages
3
Greetings.

Our VLSI teacher asked us for designing a CMOS inverter with TSMC 0.18um library, he gave us that library, but it has ".l" extension, and he originally wants us to do the project with hspice, but I don't have hspice installed on my machine, I told him and he agreed with ltspice.

Now, I have these questions :

1. Is it possible to use that library in ltspice?
2. Is it possible to calculate delay using ltspice?

Regards.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,615
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,615
All SPICE versions are more or less based on the same sources. LTSPICE uses SPICE standard models for semiconductors. You should be able to use the HSPICE Library in LTSPICE too, but you may need to make some modifications.

Here's an example:
The LTSPICE library 'standard.mos' contains MOSFETs in the form of model statements:
.model Si7336ADP VDMOS(Rg=3.5 Rd=1.2m Rs=800u mtriode=1.9 lambda=0.01 Vto=2.9 Ksubthres=100m Kp=280 Cgdmax=1.6n Cgdmin=200p A=1.5 Cgs=5.2n Cjo=3n M=.5 Is=5p Rb=3m mfg=Siliconix Vds=30 Ron=2.4m Qg=36n)

You can add your HSPICE models in the same format. YOu risk, however, that youe models get lost with an update of LTSPICE. Instead of modifying the standard library, build your own libraries and include them wit a .lib statement into the LTSPICE schematic.

Here is a description how to proceed.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,615
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,615
This can be used, see this quick and dirty example (without using a library I simply put the model statement into the schematic:
upload_2017-6-5_19-53-2.png
 
Top