Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Vbe, Darlington Pair 3v?(?)

The New Guy

Jun 6, 2017
Hey guys,

I am just a hobbyist, and this is the first time I have looked into using a Darlington NPN transistor, a TIP142.
I want to use it as an on/off switch (no amplification). I want to use this switch to turn a high power infrared LED (100w), at 3.5 amps, completely on and completely off. I furthermore want to pulse the base, held at a Thevenin voltage (voltage divider bias) with square waves derived from a 555, using capacitive coupling.
Everywhere I look on the web, every article says that the Vbe drop for a silicon Darlington is approximately 1.4v (2x.7v), and the Vce(sat) drop is approximately .1 to .2 volts + 1 Vbe(.7), for a rough total of .8 volts.
However, in the attached datasheet, I see a Vbe(on) of 3V, A Vbe(sat) of 3.5v, and a Vce(sat) of 2-3V.
Can anyone help me to understand this? Is this just a result of doping the silicon?
All I know is that I want to use the Darlington transistor as a switch at ELF frequencies.
All of your help is appreciated.

Attachments

• TIP140_D-1815015.pdf
    252.8 KB · Views: 2

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
If you want to pulse the base on and off, why hold it at any voltage other than ground?
Why use a darlington if it is driven by a 555?
Perhaps think of using an IRLZ44 mosfet.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
A MOSFET as suggested by @Bluejets is definitely the better solution.
But to answer your question, look at how a Darlington pair is constructed (from the datasheet):
upload_2020-11-21_14-4-46.png
To drive the base of the rightmost NPN transistor, the base voltage needs to be ~0.7 V (give or take a few mV, doesn't matter for the consideration). This is the voltage at the emitter of the left NPN transistor. Assuming a saturation voltage Vce(sat) = 0.1 V, the collector of the left NPB transistor will be at ~0.8 V (VC = VE + VCE(sat). As both collectors are connected, this will also be VCE of the right NPN transistor and thus VCE of the darlington pair.