Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Vizio s3851w-d4 power supply schematics

vizioUsr

Jan 23, 2018
HI,

I am a newbie here and I am trying to repair my Vizio s3851w-d4 soundbar.
The problem with it is that it is not powering on.

The power board normally takes 110V AC input and provides 24V and 5V dual output. However this board is only providing the 5V output and not the 24V output.

I have narrowed it down to the step down transformer. (see the image, it is the transformer with the markings MK BCK32BK)
Where can I get the schematics of the power supply board to get the details about the transformer?
The model number on the board is 0500-0515-2180.

Attachments

• Vizio_Power_supply_details.jpg
    Vizio_Power_supply_details.jpg
    138.8 KB · Views: 438

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
It's more likely to be the capacitor to the right of this transformer that needs changing:

part.png

Looks suspiciously 'bulging' to me - a common cause of faults like yours. There may by other dud parts but the capacitor needs changing anyway. Post close up image of this area, top and bottom of board.

dave9

Mar 5, 2017
So you're stating that you measured power (voltage) coming into the transformer, across the primary coil, but measure none on the 24V output coil? If so, I don't think that will be an easy transformer to find (I could be wrong because internet, lol). It would probably be easier to find a whole Vizio power board.

However in my experience the transformer itself is not nearly as likely to fail as the switching transistor(s) right before it under that finned heatsink, or the diode(s) after it under the flat plate heatsink, or of course any bulging capacitors as Kellys_eye mentioned... I just can't tell if the one pictured is bulging or it's just the way the light is reflecting off of it.