Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Voltage regulating.

dinosquirrel

May 10, 2012
Hi everyone! I'm new here and need some help.

I've been looking for a voltage regulator that will run off of a battery, BUT will keep the output voltage the same as the voltage on the battery drops.

I have a lot of electronics experience, I know what most parts are, I solder on a regular basis, but I'm not an expert and there's is a lot that I don't know and I'm not afraid to admit it.

I need to adjust for 5-8volts out at 3 amps ( i know it's a lot) and the battery inputs are 9-16volts. I need a few of these for quite a few different projects. I am more than happy to build this myself if someone knows the schematic and although I've never etched a board, I'm sure willing to try. I'm trying to keep my cost down, but I'm willing to spend some cash to get started.

I've looked on ebay, but I can't see things in person so I don't know if I've found what I'm looking for.

The output voltage has to be specific within a volt because it's running a camera or transmission equipment, or lights. Just a lot of devices can't deviate much.

I searched and hope I didn't re-post something.

Thank you in advance.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi there
welcome to the forums :)

do a google search on Low Voltage Dropout Regulators
they can go down as low as ~ 1.25V difference between input and output
you would then have a look at the datasheets to find one that could handle 3Amps
ot it may give circuit examples of using current pass transistors

cheers
Dave

War_Spigot

Feb 20, 2012
What Dave said. I have some LDO Regulators that I think can regulate from an input that's only ~.5V above the output(under ideal conditions). They sold them in 3.3V, 5V, 9V, and adjustable versions. Buck converters are more efficient than linear ones, but I don't think they're typically made for high current applications, so a linear regulator would probably be better(and easier)

davenn

Sep 5, 2009