Maker Pro

Wall mounted 8 way SCART switch

As the name suggests it, this is a 8 way Scart switch, bound to be mounted on my wall behind the TV.

@xi@g@me

Dec 15, 2016
@xi@g@me submitted a new Showcase Item:

Wall mounted 8 way SCART switch

Hello all ! This is my first project log posted here. Hope you'll like it.

The goal of this project is to create a SCART switch which accepts up to 8 inputs and can support composite video, RGB and S-video (plus audio of course). The switch will be wall mounted for it to have stability and easy access.
It will NOT support audio in both ways, and thus cannot be used in the opposite direction.

For this I first broke apart a 3 way scart switch to see how it worked, and they simply use mechanical switches to chose where the signal goes. I decided not to put any complex circuitry to decode and re-encode the signal as it seems like I do not need to do so. Moreover, it would have created lag.

Details of the steps in following updates, and discussion about the log is in the forum, as it seems to be the rule here :)

Here is my current status, that I will update while I go forward.
  • Schematics : 80% (low signal relays are missing for the 12V slow switch signal)
  • PCB Layout : 10%
  • Case design : 0% (But I have my ideas)
  • Prototyping : 5% (parts ordered)
  • PCB manufacturing : 0% of course
  • Soldering : 0%
  • Construction of case : 0%
  • Test & Validation : 0%

Read more about this showcase item here...

@xi@g@me

Dec 15, 2016
So... electrolytic or tantalum for the polarized high capacitance decoupling capacitors ?

Pete Bronlund

Nov 9, 2015