Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Where did the - 0.7 V from the graph came from? (Diode Clampers Circuit)

Jayce

Mar 24, 2018
I am currently studying how Diode Clampers works. (Sorry for the newbie question.)

Regarding the picture on the attachment or in this link : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KqsmmzlFRwVzQ8dE6zRtJlrQ_vh2kQD3/view?usp=sharing. On the result waveform after applying clampling / shifting techniques, I am wondering where did the -0.7 V on the graph came from?

On the negative alternation / half-cycle, the Vp(out) is equal to 0 V as there is no current flowing through the load resistor.
On the positive alternation, the Vp(out) is equal to 2 Vp(in) - 0.7 V through applying KVL : V(in) + V(in) - 0.7 - Vp(out).

As the result, the AC waveform shifted upwards. The Vp(in) - 0.7 V on the graph signifies the new / assumed / considered origin to show that it shifted upwards. I don't know why the -0.7 V is labeled on the peak of the negative alternation, wherein the V(out) is 0 V, hence why it is on the 0 / origin line.

Again, sorry for the newbie question but I will appreciate any help. Thank you.

Attachments

• 0.7.png
    0.7.png
    72.2 KB · Views: 132

Cannonball

May 6, 2017
Welcome to EP.

On the negative half cycle the diode becomes forward biased with ground being the most + point in the - part of the input signal. The voltage drop across the diode will be .7 volts.

I hope this helps.

Jayce

Mar 24, 2018
The -0.7V is the voltage necessary to turn the diode on when it is driven negatively.

Welcome to EP.

On the negative half cycle the diode becomes forward biased with ground being the most + point in the - part of the input signal. The voltage drop across the diode will be .7 volts.

I hope this helps.