Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Where to add dimmer in ac led bulb?

alex ezorsky-lie

Aug 27, 2015
My goal is to build a dimmable led light of 75-100w in the cheapest and easiest way possible for video lighting.

As an experiment I bought this $30 75watt AC bulb from amazon. Its crazy bright but of course not dimmable (it flickers if attempted). My thought was that I could add a dimmer to the built in driver. Also if I could add an optional dc input that would be awesome too.

I took it apart and tested the output voltage and current leading to the LED’s and its 75v and .83 amps. Being that I am a novice with real circuitry I am at a loss as to where in this little ac-dc driver I could add a dimmer with the least complexity. My instinct is to do it on the output leads since thats the only part I understand but considering the board itself is already regulating voltage I figured there might be a more elegant solution. Also not sure how or where I could put dc input leads without frying things.

Thanks!

(the little plug is for the fan)
IMG_0922.JPG

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
There are three identical circuits on the circuit board.
The IC is made by SI of China.The datasheet for the IC shows a circuit and the IC has two pins and three resistors that are not explained. A dimmer is not shown.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
This one explains to a degree.
I'd say 3 drivers for 3 internal LED arrangements.
Could be paralleled for current. Who knows.
With the 3 bridges on the V- output it looks like it might be.
Board say 1506x3-150W.....??
Mostly chip is a mosfet.
Fairly standard chip design these days for LED drivers.

https://datasheetspdf.com/pdf/1112308/SISemiconductors/SIC9554A/1

Would be simpler to arrange say 3 or 4 (or whatever) smaller LED lights and switch them in and out for dim effect.

Last edited:

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
My goal is to build a dimmable led light of 75-100w in the cheapest and easiest way possible for video lighting.