Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Where to Put Ground on PCB

Tripp

Jul 3, 2014
Hi all,

Big electronics novice here, but im trying to repair an old pcb board that limited current using resistors in parallel and a 6 way 2 pole switch to control the current. The issue is resistors kept frying so I suggested a voltage divider to replace it but I am stuck as to how I put a ground on the pcb board as the only inputs Ive got to work with are two coaxial cables (split to get pos and neg on the board), rather than a nice familiar power supply with +- and ground.

Can i just connect the ground plane to a large area of copper?

Regards,

Tripp

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome to our forum.

There are a few issues with your project:

1. How do you want to replace the resistors by a voltage divider? Typically a voltage divider is made from high resistance resistors and therefore not suitable for carrying high currents.
  2. Where do you get the ground plane from? I understand that you work on an existing PCB. It will be mechanically difficult to add a ground plane there.
  3. Can you connect ground (plane?) to a large area of copper? We can't know. Where does the area of copper come from? If it already exists, to which potential is it connected?

A schematic of your proposed circuit and a photo of the location and the copper planes available there can help us understand your project. Also we may ask you more questions before we are able to answer in a satisfactory manner.

Tripp

Jul 3, 2014
Hey Harald,

Thank you for the prompt reply.

I have just this moment found the reason why the resistors were frying. It was being connected after an amplifier instead of before (not by myself I would like to add) so instead of say a few mV it was reciveing about +-45V!! This was something found in a drawer that was used many years ago and my boss wanted to see if it would still work.