Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Which PicBasic Software To Use?

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
Unless I'm mistaken MicroChip's PicBasic software isn't free and seems to be quite expensive. I did find MikroElektronika though, and have spent most of my morning reading their online book, which seems to be exceptionally written.

Any opinions from members using this software?

Thanks,
Chris

Last edited:

GonzoEngineer

Dec 2, 2011
I have had a lot of fun using the Basic Stamp series. I use them all the time to build simple test circuits for testing PC Board functions. They are cheap, and versatile.

CDRIVE

May 8, 2012
I would suggest switching to C.

Bob
Bob, I've been programming in QB and then VB6 since 1998. The language is nearly second nature to me. Learning C at this late date is unappealing to me. I would rather familiarize myself with ASM directly than do that.

Thanks,
Chris

p.erasmus

Jul 18, 2013
CDRIVE
THE MikroElektronika BASIC compiler are good stuff ,you will not go wrong
I use their C compilers(now ANSI Compliant) in may) products I am very happy with mE
also you being use to VB you will have no problems using it

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Bob, I've been programming in QB and then VB6 since 1998. The language is nearly second nature to me. Learning C at this late date is unappealing to me. I would rather familiarize myself with ASM directly than do that.

Thanks,
Chris
That would be a good idea too. There are some time critical things that are better done in ASM on PICs.

I do most of my programming in ASM for 8-bit PICS, have only used C for 16-bit ones.

Bob

CDRIVE

May 8, 2012
CDRIVE
I use their C compilers(now ANSI Compliant) in may) products I am very happy with mE

Yes, I was very impressed with the online documentation I've read. I also spent some time reading posts in their forums, which also appears quite thorough.

That would be a good idea too. There are some time critical things that are better done in ASM on PICs.