Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Which type of sensor works for pigeons within 20 feet without tripping when a skytrain drives by

sundo597

Aug 21, 2020
at about 100 feet distance?

Hello, newbie here.
I want to get a sensor that will detect birds on my high-rise balcony per heading above so that the sensor will activate power to a fan that runs on regular 120 V AC power. The fan will then turn on and move tin foil to scare the birds away. Alternatively, I could use a battery operated fan if the setup is easier or the supplies are easier to obtain.

Thank You very much in advance for your help.

Nanren888

Nov 8, 2015
PIR?
A111 Acconeer radar?
Mount it on the ceiling, pointing down at the floor?

ChosunOne

Jun 20, 2010
I very much doubt that what you want can be done practically.

Off-the-shelf motion sensors of the type used in alarm systems (or the less discriminating types used in turning on lights) can probably be used to detect pigeons at 20 feet out from your balcony. The problem is what's known in the alarm industry as the "elephant syndrome": A wasp flying an inch in front of a PIR [or microwave(MW) or ultrasonic(US)] sensor, creates as much of a "motion" signature as an elephant walking at 50 feet. (not an exact ratio, but you get the idea). Whichever of the three most popular motion sensing technologies you try to use is going to "see" a skytrain at 100' if it "sees" pigeons at 20'.