Maker Pro
Maker Pro

why 74hc inputs are high by default?

maker_0dwedp6d_1663786671

Sep 21, 2022
I was working with 74hc ic and their input pins are high by default, why?

Is there a good reason for such a design and also is there a way to connect them them so they can be used as normal without using a bunch of pull down resistors or inverters

I am a beginner so if I am missing something obvious plz consider that

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
High impedance inputs are susceptible to noise triggering on a 'pulled-low' basis.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
I looked at several HC datasheets, and don't see anything that indicates that the inputs have a default state. Given the extremely high input impedance, you might be seeing the effect of a charge on the input capacitance.

In any case, it is .n.e.v.e.r. ok to leave logic circuit inputs unterminated in a firm 1 or 0 state. Leaving a logic gate input floating makes it susceptible to radiated noise. It is particularly bad for CMOS devices because stray charge and capacitance can bias the gate into a linear amplifier state, greatly increasing power dissipation. Hysteretic inputs are a special case, but the vast majority of CMOS devices do not have such inputs.

ak

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
I looked at several HC datasheets, and don't see anything that indicates that the inputs have a default state.
Ditto. I don't know how accurate the 74HC Spice models are, but simulation with LTspice suggests the simple gate inputs are actually internally pulled somewhat below mid-rail voltage.

crutschow

May 7, 2021
is there a way to connect them them so they can be used as normal without using a bunch of pull down resistors or inverters
Normal operation is to have the input driven high or low by an external signal, no pull-down resistors or inverters needed, so I don't understand your question.
What's your definition of "normal"?

If the input is not being used, than just tie it directly to ground or V+.