Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Will this synthesizer work?

j4cobgarby

Sep 18, 2018
I've attached an image of the schematic for a synth I'm designing.
The basic principle is that I have three 555 timers, each generating a square wave whose frequency is controlled by the resistors R1, R9, and R13. Each timer's output can optionally be converted to a sin wave or left as a square wave based on a switch on the output of each timer. The three different timer outputs now are summed together at U2, but are weighted according to R5, 6, and 7. The resultant waveform is then sent through the speaker at the bottom. The whole thing is powered by a 9V DC jack.

I have two main questions:
  • Are the 555 timers wired up correctly? This is my first time using them like this.
  • Will there be a problem with audio impedance at the speaker? I have little understanding of impedance in this context.
Thank you in advance!Screenshot from 2019-01-27 15-31-30.png

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
You cannot connect the discharge pin to Vcc, this is a short when discharge is low. There may be other problems.

And, no, you cannot drive a speaker directly from an op amp. You need an audio power amp.

Bob

j4cobgarby

Sep 18, 2018
You cannot connect the discharge pin to Vcc, this is a short when discharge is low. There may be other problems.

And, no, you cannot drive a speaker directly from an op amp. You need an audio power amp.

Bob
Why can I not connect discharge to Vcc? How else will I get a 50% duty cycle? Or.. Just a low value resistor instead of shorting it, perhaps?

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Why can I not connect discharge to Vcc?
Because it shorts the power supply.
How else will I get a 50% duty cycle? Or.. Just a low value resistor instead of shorting it, perhaps?
You cannot get a 50% duty cycle with the standard astable circuit. Connect the pot to the output pin to get a 50% duty cycle.

Bob

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016