Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Wind Detecting Circuit

TKowalskii

Apr 13, 2019
I’m a sophomore in high school in my first year electronics class. For a project I am trying to design a wind detecting circuit using a motor and a transistor. The motor is connected to the base of the transistor, and there is an LED connected to the collector. The circuit was made so that when the motor was spun, current would be sent through the base, activating the transistor and turning on the LED. The motor produces around 20-40mA but the issue is only around .2 V comes out, not enough to bypass the VBE. The goal is to get it working on a 9V battery. Any suggestions? I would add an image but I’m currently in a car and my data isn’t the greatest.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
The type of motor will determine the output. A DC motor with brushes will turn out a voltage proportional to speed but will have considerable friction. A fan motor may be AC and not suitable for this purpose.
You could use a thermistor to measure wind flow, the resistance will vary with temperature.
I have used a commercial hot wire sensor which was nicknamed the bee catcher.

You may be able to 'raise' the voltage of the motor output with a forward biased diode or you could use an op-amp which is capable of working with an input down to zero volts.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
0.2 V is very low. How fast is the shaft turning for that voltage? Can you post images of the motor?

Detecting very low wind speeds is difficult. Professional units that have vanes or cups driving a small generator have very low friction bearings.

ak

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
You may want to reconsider your choice of sensor. Although a decent permanent magnet (PM) DC motor will produce an output voltage, which in turn can produce a current in a resistive load, that is more or less a linear function of the motor shaft speed, it may not be the "best" choice based on your limited experience.