Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Winix Air Filter won't power on. Found broken diode in power supply?

mfrankSD

Feb 16, 2022
Hi all, i'm somewhat new to electronics so forgive any ignorance...

I have a high-end room air filter (https://www.winixamerica.com/product/xq/) that won't power on.

I started looking at the power supply unit to see what's going on. No burned smells, or visually obvious broken components.

After some research, I figured out this is a flyback power supply. I'm seeing 167V at the primary side of the transformer (apparently rectifying 120V main with a rectifier increases the DC output by 1.4X).

All the components between the wall outlet power and the primary side of the transformer seem OK. At first, I thought maybe the switching IC went bad. The label printed on the component seems to match this guy https://www.hkkzd.com/products/1_6812934/tny286pg which indicates switching frequency 125-140kHz. I looked at some youtube videos and it looks like you measure frequency by putting one probe on the primary side and one probe on the secondary side? This didn't make intuitive sense to me. However, I did measure 150kHz. Slightly out of spec, but maybe my switcher is slightly different than the one in the above link.

On the secondary side, I don't measure any output voltage. There's some capacitors rated for 16V so I should be expecting 16V on the secondary side of the transformer. I'm not super confident that I know where to put the probes on the secondary side. There's two pins coming out on the secondary side of the transformer, I assume this is the + and - of the secondary DC circuit that should give me 16V.