Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Wire ATX Power Supply Busbar for PC Farm (12V 256A total)

alexhk

Jun 17, 2012
Wire ATX Power Supply Busbar for Atom CPU Farm (12V 256A total)

Hello

I am new here and as you can probably tell very soon, I don't have a lot of experience in electronics. I am a programmer with some basic electronics understanding. To make matters worse, English is not my native language so please be gentle ;) (I am in Asia but I was born in Europe)

For a small project I have been using PC Power Supplies (ATX PSUs) to power 16 small low-cost Atom mainboards (they are basically small noname mainboards with an Intel Atom CPU and everything on board, such as display card, wifi, etc). They use 12V power inputs and have a low power consumption (around 40W continues).

Scroll down for a photo of these Atom boards (I am not using these, but you get the picture).

The ATX PSU I have been using has a single 12V rail that can provide up to 816W/68A with a very good efficiency (Cooler Master M2 Silent Pro 850W is the type). I am actually only using around 640W (16 Atoms * 40W), but to have a safety buffer and for the easy of calculation, I would like to assume we are talking about 4A per Atom Board (48W).

What I did so far is wiring 16 wires of 16AWG from the +12V output pins of the power supply to the 16 different Atom Boards. Same for the GND pins. I've been using this setup for a few weeks now, it works fine and looks professional.

But now I have to increase the no. of Atom PCs to 64 in total, so I will need 4 PSU's in total. To make matters worse, I have some space constraints so I can't wire one by one. I will have to go to a busbar outside the case, then have a +12V and GND wire in 8AWG go into a case, and then go to another busbar for power distribution again.